All Posts, Biologique Recherche, Brands, Skincare

Skincare series: Brand #1 – Biologique Recherche

I have been using this brands’ Lotion P50W 150ml, 43Euro, and Creme Contour Des Yeux VIP O2 30ml, 57Euro, for 3 months now and wanted to post my findings. On recommendation of a facial aesthetician whilst away on holiday, I bought these pricey items after a bit of thought and research online. A description of both products:

“P50 Balancing exfoliator, P50w Lotion Result : gently exfoliates and balances the epidermis. Product description : this is the gentlest exfoliator with a formula rich in anti-inflammatory active ingredients. Direction for use : all over the face, neck and cleavage. Apply to the eye area once or twice a week. The first week: Saturate moistened cotton pads with Lotion P50W and apply to the face, neck and cleavage. Thereafter: Saturate dry cotton pads with the lotion. Remove Lotion P50W with L’Eau.(www.biologique-recherche.com)

“Crème Contour des Yeux VIP O2 Result : smoothes and tones the eye area and reduces bags under the eyes. Product description : this cream’s unique, oxygenating and moisturizing formula combines Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids with the Specific Biologique Recherche Oxygenating Complex to help reduce wrinkles and brighten the gaze. Direction for use : apply a hazelnut-sized amount of Creme. (www.biologique-recherche.com)

My first impression of the P50w was awful, as it has a strong unpleasant scent and stings upon application (I dilute my application with some water to ease the process), needless to say using this felt like work. I know that the effort can pay off in the long term, but I do like to make my skincare enjoyable by choosing products I like smell of – and don’t smell anything like vinegar- and feel good! In comparison the eye cream was pleasant to use, no scent, absorbed into the eye contour area well, and the pump provides just the right amount of product too, unusual for eye cream pump packaging.

How I apply P50w: I take a small cotton round, douse it at close range with Avene thermal spray water, add an equal amount of P50w on top and apply to my face. I let this dry for around a minute and then remove it with a cotton round soaked in water only – my skin is sensitive so I find this is the only way I can avoid irritation, although, as mentioned, one night a week I will leave it on.

VIP o2 eye cream: I use one pump and apply to the contour areas of both eyes and using gentle patting motions with my ring finger until fully absorbed.

My thoughts One change I have seen is that the tone of my skin is more even with use of the P50w, and if I apply and leave it on in the evening my skin literally is glowing in the next morning. Now, I do have to be careful not to use this too much as my skin does get some irritation, but if I use this diluted around 3 evenings a week I have been able to get the same effects without the sting or reaction – yay! Now, I have been given a sample size of the Clarins Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner which seems to follow the same concept as the P50w, so fingers crossed as the P50w isn’t convincing enough for another 43Euro splurge. But on the bright side, after 3 months use I still have around 1/5 left over (I took the picture, above, some time ago).

The eye cream has discernibly improved the hydration of my skin around the eyes and I have noticed the sunken in circles have lifted and become less harsh – another yay! I still have around half – guessing (!) as the tube is completely opaque, so can’t really tell how much I have left – which is pretty normal, for me eye creams last 3 months, but the quantity of this one is much more generous than eye creams I have purchased in the past (usually 15ml), so that does have me wondering if really this is quite a fair price after all…

Negatives: Price! Scent of the P50w… and not being able to tell how much I have used of the eye cream. The brand is not stocked at many places in the UK.

Positives: The two items I have bought from this brand have performed well and I am happy with the results. I will most likely try to purchase a more affordable eye cream and see if I end up missing the VIP O2 creme, if that happens there is nothing I can do about it, but at the very least I will have tried to please my purse :). On the other hand, as mentioned I will not be missing the P50w lotion, as even after 3 months the scent makes me want to wash my face again (the scent does dissipate after a minute, but as I have a sensitivity to smell it ends up bothering me for longer)

Toner line-up to follow: Clarins, Elizabeth Arden, Thayers & Pixi. Eye cream line-up to follow: Elizabeth Arden, Imedeen, Ole Henrikson & YSL.

Currently Biologique Recherche is available at Liberty of London and E F Medispa. Have you tried the Biologique Recherche line? If so, what did you think? I would love to hear your comments, suggestions for alternative toners & eye creams. Thank you for reading!

Follow on Bloglovin

Standard

Leave a Reply

